UConn Conference on Truth Pluralism and Logical Pluralism

The Philosophy Department at the University of Connecticut, in partnership with the Pluralisms Global Research Network funded by the National Research Foundation of Korea, is delighted to announce a conference on Truth Pluralism and Logical Pluralism, to be held April 17-19 2015, at the University of Connecticut – Storrs.


Registration for the conference is now open! Please follow the link here to register. While the conference is free and open to the public, registration is required. Please register by April 1st.

If you have any questions, please contact the conference organiser, Nathan Kellen.

Conference Information:

You can view the conference schedule by clicking this link, or scrolling down this page.

You can view the abstracts by clicking this link.

You can view and download the conference poster by clicking this link.

A list of nearby restaurants and shops can be found in PDF form by following this link.

Conference Participants

Keynote Speakers:

Paul Horwich (NYU)

Rosanna Keefe (Sheffield)

Invited Speakers:

Dorit Bar-On (UConn)

Aaron Cotnoir (St Andrews)

Michael Glanzberg (Northwestern)

Nathan Kellen (UConn)

Teresa Kouri (Ohio State)

Nikolaj J.L.L. Pedersen (Yonsei)

Kevin Scharp (Ohio State)

Keith Simmons (UConn)

Neil Tennant (Ohio State)

Contributed Speakers:

Paul Simard Smith (UConn)

Chase Wrenn (Alabama)

Andy Yu (Oxford)

Conference Commentators:

Roy T. Cook (Minnesota)

Stewart Shapiro (Ohio State)

Crispin Wright (NYU/Stirling)

Invited Discussants:

Jc Beall (UConn)

Jean-Yves Beziau (Brazil)

Douglas Edwards (Hamilton)

Filippo Ferrari (Aberdeen)

Soomin Nam (Yonsei)

Michael P. Lynch (UConn)

Jain Rhee (Yonsei)

Marcus Rossberg (UConn)

Jisoo Seo (Yonsei)

Lionel Shapiro (UConn)

Cory Wright (California State – Long Beach)

Jeremy Wyatt (Yonsei)

Conference Organisers:

Nathan Kellen (UConn)

Michael P. Lynch (UConn)

Nikolaj J.L.L. Pedersen (Yonsei)


Friday, April 17th – Laurel Hall 306

Jc Beall (UConn) & Michael P. Lynch (UConn) Opening Remarks
Nikolaj J.L.L. Pedersen (Yonsei)                             “Strong Alethic Pluralism”
Neil Tennant (Ohio State) “Truthmaking and Truth-Transmission: How to Determine the Right Logic”
Paul Horwich “Is TRUTH a Normative Concept?”

Saturday, April 18th – Laurel Hall 201

Registration / Breakfast
Dorit Bar-On (UConn) & Keith Simmons (UConn) “Truth: One or Many?”
Teresa Kouri (Ohio State) “Connective Meanings in Beall and Restall’s Logical Pluralism”
Lunch Break – Lunch Provided
Aaron Cotnoir (St Andrews) “Logical Nihilism”
Andy Yu (Oxford) “Logic for Alethic Pluralists”
Chase Wrenn (Alabama) “A Plea for Immodesty: Alethic Pluralism, Logical Pluralism, and Mixed Inferences”
Rosanna Keefe (Sheffield) “Pluralisms: Logic, Truth and Domain-Specificity”

Sunday, April 19th – Laurel Hall 201

Registration / Breakfast
Paul Simard Smith (UConn) “Between Double Negation Elimination and a Hard Place: A Dilemma for Domain-Specific Logical Pluralism”
Nathan Kellen (UConn) “Logical Consequence as a Functional Concept”
Kevin Scharp (Ohio State) “Logical and Alethic Pluralism”
Lunch Break – Lunch Provided
Roy T. Cook (Minnesota), Stewart Shapiro (Ohio State), Crispin Wright (NYU/Stirling) Conference Commentator Panel Discussion


Many thanks to Shelly Burelle, Dorothy Lustig, Jo-Ann Waide, the UConn Philosophy Department, the UConn Group in Philosophical and Mathematical Logic, the UConn Office of the Vice Provost for Global Affairs, the UConn Humanities Institute, the UConn College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and the National Research Foundation of Korea for funding and support for this conference.