University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Faculty

dorit-bar-on

Dorit Bar-On

Professor
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology
dorit.bar-on@uconn.edu  //  Website // 234 Manchester Hall
donald-baxter

Donald Baxter

Professor and Department Head
Metaphysics, Early Modern (Western) Philosophy
donald.baxter@uconn.edu  //  Website  //  201 Manchester Hall // 860-486-4419
jc-beall

JC Beall

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor
Logic, Philosophy of Logic, and Lem-Related Issues
jc.beall@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 334 Manchester Hall // 860-486-3775
paul-bloomfield

Paul Bloomfield

Professor
Moral Philosophy, Metaphysics
phsb@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 206 Manchester Hall // 860-486-3745
thomas-bontley

Thomas D. Bontly

Associate Professor
Philosophy of Mind and Philosophy of Science
thomas.bontly@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 204 Manchester Hall // 860-486-3822

Lewis Gordon

Professor
Africana Philosophy, Existentialism, Phenomenology, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Science, World Philosophy, and Philosophy of Education
lewis.gordon@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 205 Manchester Hall // 860-486-9118
mitch-green

Mitch Green

Professor
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, and Aesthetics
mitchell.green@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 304 Manchester Hall // 860-486-9119
suzy-killmister

Suzy Killmister

Assistant Professor, joint with the Human Rights Institute
Moral and Political Philosophy
suzy.killmister@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 232 Manchester Hall // 860-486-7946

Hallie Liberto

Assistant Professor
Moral and Political Philosophy
hallie.liberto@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 230 Manchester Hall // 860-486-2710
william-lycan

William Lycan

Distinguished Visiting Professor
Philosophy of Mind and Philosophy of Language
micheal-lynch

Michael P. Lynch

Professor and Director, Humanities Institute
Epistemology, Language and Political Philosophy
mplynch@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 301 Manchester Hall // 860-486-9057
 mcleod

Alexus McLeod

Assistant Professor
Chinese Philosophy, Comparative Philosophy
gustavus.mcleod@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 233 Manchester Hall //
dave-ripley

David Ripley

Assistant Professor
Logic and Philosophy of Language
david.ripley@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 207 Manchester Hall // 860-486-4025
 marcus-rossberg

Marcus Rossberg

Associate Professor
Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics, History of Analytic Philosophy
marcus.rossberg@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 229 Manchester Hall // 860-486-6420
 susan-schneider

Susan Schneider

Associate Professor
Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, and Philosophy of Cognitive Science
susan.schneider@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 231 Manchester Hall // 860-486-
 lionel-shapiro

Lionel Shapiro

Associate Professor
Philosophy of Language and Mind, Philosophical Logic, and Early Modern Philosophy
lionel.shapiro@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 203 Manchester Hall // 860-486-9470
Professor Stewart Shapiro

Stewart Shapiro

Distinguished Visiting Professor, Spring 2017 and Spring 2018
shapiro.4@osu.edu  //  Website  // Manchester Hall
 daniel-silvermint

Daniel Silvermint

Assistant Professor, joint with Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Political Philosophy and Feminist Philosophy
daniel.silvermint@uconn.edu  //  Website// 332 Manchester Hall // 860-486-7928
 keith-simmons

Keith Simmons

Professor
Logic, the History and Philosophy of Logic, Philosophy of Language, and Kant’s ethics
keith.simmons@uconn.edu  //  Website // 333 Manchester Hall // 860-486-6279

Emeritus Faculty

 RuthBobs4-150x150Ruth Millikan

Professor Emerita
Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Biology, Ontology, and Natural Epistemology
ruth.millikan@uconn.edu // Website  // 303 Manchester Hall

dtm3Diana Tietjens Meyers

Professor Emerita
Philosophy of Action, Feminist Ethics, and Human Rights Theory

wheeler

Samuel C. Wheeler III

Professor Emeritus
Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Ethics, Deconstruction, and Ancient Philosophy

Susan Anderson

Professor Emerita
Self, Applied Ethics, Critical Reasoning/Logic, 19th Century Philosophy and Philosophy in Literature

Garry M. Brodsky

Professor Emeritus
Nietzsche; Modernity and Postmodernity; Ethics and Social and Political Philosophy, both Anglo-American analytic and Continental

austen-clarkAusten Clark

Professor
Philosophy of Psychology and Philosophy of Mind
austen.clark@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 303 Manchester Hall

Crawford Elder

Professor Emeritus
Metaphysics Broadly Construed–a form of metaphysics, that is, that encompasses issues in Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, and even Philosophy of Biology
crawford.elder@uconn.edu  //  Website  // 303 Manchester Hall

Margaret Gilbert

Professor Emerita
Philosophy of social phenomena; related areas of: ethics, social and political philosophy, philosophy of law, action theory, epistemology; the theory of rational choice

Anne Hiskes

Professor Emerita
Interdisciplinary perspectives on the History and Philosophy of Science, Gender and Science, Philosophy of Physics, Bioethics, and Science and Human Rights

Leonard I. Krimerman

Professor Emeritus
Research interests in recent political philosophy, theory and prospects of democracy, philosophy and social science, and philosophy of education
leonard.krimerman@uconn.edu // Website  // 303 Manchester Hall

Joel Kupperman

Professor Emeritus
Ethics and Aesthetics, with a strong interest in classic Asian

Scott Lehmann

Professor Emeritus
Logic, Foundations of Economics, Policy Analysis, and Environmental Ethics
scott.lehmann@uconn.ed  //  Website // 303 Manchester Hall

Robert Luyster

Professor Emeritus
History and Philosophy of Religion

A.S. McGrade

Professor Emeritus
Medieval philosophy, especially Ockham, Aquinas, and Augustine; political philosophy; Plato and Aristotle; metaphysics

Robert Phillips

Professor Emeritus
Moral issues connected with wars and with other aspects of contemporary politics

Jerome A. Shaffer

Professor Emeritus
Mind-body
Jerry.Shaffer@uconn.edu // Website  // 303 Manchester Hall

John Troyer

Professor Emeritus
Normative Theory, Early Modern Philosophy, and Wittgenstein
John.Troyer@uconn.edu // Website  // 303 Manchester Hall