Tracy Llanera: Awarded Humanities Institute Faculty Fellowship

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Tracy Llanera for being awarded a Humanities Institute Faculty Fellowship! Professor Llanera will write a new book titled The Misfits of Extremism.

Her book aims to place non-traditional extremist agents of Islamic fundamentalism and white supremacy at the front and center of philosophical and political debates. The work will offer a new theoretical framework for understanding the nature and character of extremism and extremist commitment, the dynamics of power and agency, and the problems of blame and moral accountability.


Heather Battaly: Templeton/Applied Research on Intellectual Humility

Heather Battaly

Congratulations to Professor Heather Battaly, one of the Principal Investigators on a $6.6 Million grant that supports Applied Research on Intellectual Humility, funded by the John Templeton Foundation and the Center for Stress, Trauma, and Resilience at Georgia State University. The request for proposals can be found below. The deadline for letters of intent is January 15, 2023. Interdisciplinary empirical proposals that address the facilitation of Intellectual Humility are encouraged.

Request for Proposals

Tracy Llanera: CLAS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Grant

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Tracy Llanera, who has been awarded a CLAS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Grant to support her work titled “Resilience: A Workshop for Women Doing Philosophy.” Dr. Llanera’s work has already inspired an intellectual movement in the South Pacific, in which Indigenous and other South Pacific women of color working in philosophy have created a Women Doing Philosophy group and project. The result is a series of influential journal articles, conferences, colloquia, and a proposed anthology on resilience. The proposal for the anthology has been enthusiastically received by the series editors for the Routledge-India series Academics, Politics and Society in the Post-Covid World.  

Professor Len Krimmerman Honored by Alumni

From left to right: emeritus professor Don Baxter, emeritus professor Len Krimmerman, Alumna Patricia O'Rourke.From left to right: professor and department head Lewis Gordon, emeritus professor Len Krimmerman.

Philosophy Professor Emeritus Leonard I. Krimerman was celebrated on Saturday, August 6th, by alumnae/i from the Inner College project he mentored back in the late 1960s.  The alumnae/i spoke of how his mentorship transformed their lives and contributed to the citizenship work they continue to do in their communities.

Here is a blog piece Professor Krimerman wrote on the Inner College:

The alumnae/i gave the Philosophy Department a plaque in Professor Krimerman's honor to post in the Student Lounge of the Philosophy Department.

Attending the event was former Head, Professor Emeritus Donald Baxter, Board of Trustees Professor Emerita Ruth Millikan, her husband Professor Emeritus Donald Shankweiler, a student, Dr. Patricia O'Rourke, from the Philosophy of Education and Community Engagement course and project Professor Krimerman co-organized, the current Head of the Philosophy Department, Professor Lewis Gordon, who also spoke in honor of Professor Krimerman, and a wonderful community of alumnae/i who have served in state government, community nonprofits, and a variety of grassroots projects. 

2022 Ruth Garrett Millikan Graduate Fellowship Winners

Congratulations to Mengyu Hu and Chris Rahlwes, who are both recipients of the 2022 Ruth Garrett Millikan Graduate Fellowship!

This summer, the fellowship will support Chris’s dissertation research on “Absence, Difference, and Denial: An Analysis of Negation” in the work of Nagarjuna and Zhuangzi, and Mengyu’s dissertation research on meta-semantics and mixed disjunctions.

The Ruth Garrett Millikan Graduate Research Fellowship was created in 2017 with an endowment by some beneficent anonymous donors and continues to be augmented by generous gifts from admirers, friends and colleagues of Professor Emerita Ruth Garrett Millikan, one of the world’s most distinguished philosophers, and a cherished member of UConn’s philosophical community. To support the fellowship fund, please visit the UConn Foundation.

Congratulations Mengyu and Chris!