Recent appointments for UConn Philosophy Graduate Students

  • Emma Bjorngard-Basayne has accepted a position as Academic Advisor & Program Coordinator in the UConn School of Business in Stamford starting summer, 2018.


  • Ralph DiFranco has accepted a position as Instructor in Philosophy at Auburn University starting fall, 2018.


  • Hanna Gunn has accepted a position as Mellon Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Vanderbilt University starting fall, 2018.


  • Alycia LaGuardia-LoBianco has accepted a position as Resident Fellow in the Vice Admiral James B. Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership at the United States Naval Academy starting fall, 2018.


  • Thomas Meagher has accepted a position as Postdoctoral W.E.B. Du Bois fellow at UMass-Amherst, summer 2018; thereafter he will take a position as Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Philosophy and Political Science, Quinnipiac University, starting fall, 2018.


  • Andrew Tedder has accepted a two year post-doctoral position at the Institute for Computer Science at the Czech Academy of Sciences as part of the research project Non-Classical Logical Models of Information Dynamics (NOCLID) starting fall, 2018.

The Journal of Philosophical Research has a new home!

The Journal of Philosophical Research is under new editorial leadership with Heather Battaly as Editor-in-Chief, and Raja Halwani, Jonathan Jenkins Ichikawa, Peter Ross, Lynne Tirrell, and Liezl van Zyl as Associate Editors. JPR has a new home at the University of Connecticut.

JPR has three main aims.

  • We are committed to publishing first-rate articles on a wide range of topics. We encourage original submissions in all areas of Philosophy.
  • We are committed to providing authors with substantive and useful comments.
  • We are committed to the mission of non-profit publishing. Our publisher is the Philosophy Documentation Center.

For further information about JPR, or to submit a paper, please see the links below.

Welcome Lynne Tirrell

We are delighted to announce that Professor Lynne Tirrell will be joining our department in the fall of 2017 and will also be affiliated with the UConn Human Rights Institute. Lynne is a leading researcher in the area of socially applied yet technically adept philosophy of language. Indeed, she may be said to have founded this burgeoning sub-field. Her pathbreaking paper, “Genocidal Language Games” is taught all over the U.S. in philosophy graduate programs, undergraduate programs, and even in prisons. In an unprecedented way she has combined detailed, theoretical work on language with the human reality of monstrous events. She has related work on transitional justice and apology, forgiveness, and reconciliation, as well as work on metaphor, storytelling, pornography, and feminist theory. Tirrell has done extensive service as the chair of the American Philosophical Association Committee on Public Philosophy. She is also an Associate Editor for the newly revitalized Journal of Philosophical Research.

Welcome Heather Battaly

We are delighted to announce that Professor Heather Battaly will be joining our department in the fall of 2017. Heather specializes in epistemology, ethics, and virtue theory, is one of the leading researchers in the world on the concept of intellectual humility, and is a pioneer on the topic of epistemic vice. Her work influences research in philosophy, psychology and education on intellectual humility and the teaching of intellectual character traits. She has been co-Investigator for a Templeton grant and Principal Investigator for a Spencer grant, has received various awards from Cal State Fullerton for research and teaching, and is editor in chief of the Journal of Philosophical Research as well as an Associate Editor for the Journal of the American Philosophical Association.

Ruth Millikan: 2017 Rolf Shock Prize in Logic and Philosophy

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Emerita Ruth Garrett Millikan has been awarded the 2017 Rolf Shock Prize in Logic and Philosophy–the equivalent of a Nobel Prize for analytic philosophy–“for her groundbreaking theories about biological functions and the biological foundations of thought and language, where the representational properties of the latter are explained in terms of these functions.” Winners are decided by the Royal Swedish Academy of Science. Past Shock Prize Laureates are W. Quine, M. Dummett, D. Scott, J. Rawls, S. Kripke, S. Feferman, J. Hintikka, T. Nagel, H. Putnam, and D. Parfit.